Tags

, , ,

I like to prepare my lunches for the week on Monday morning so I don’t have to worry about it the rest of the week. I like to make meals with a lot of vegetables and protein that I can easily store in containers in the fridge or freezer. This week I decided on vegetarian chili. I found this recipe off of http://www.vegkitchen.com/recipes/bountiful-beans/classic-vegetarian-chili/. It is delicious and I don’t miss the meat in it at all. I made a few changes to it to fit my taste. I pair this chili with a piece of whole wheat bread, sugar snap peas, and unsweetened applesauce.

Vegetarian Chili

Servings: 5

Prep/Total Time: 20 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-208; Fat-4g; Cholesterol-2.5mg; Sodium-365mg; Carbohydrates-41g; Fiber-8g; Protein-29g; Sugar-21g

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 large green bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 large jalapeno pepper
  • 4 cups canned pinto beans, drained and rinsed
  • One 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
  • 1.5 cups canned no-sodium corn kernels
  • One 4-ounce can mild chopped green chiles
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
Directions:
  1. Heat the oil in a large soup pot. Add the onion and garlic and sauté over medium heat until the onion is golden
  2. Add the remaining ingredients. Simmer gently, covered, for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally
  3. Let cool and pour into your 5 containers for the week. Keep 3 in the fridge and the last 2 in the freezer for Thursday and Friday to stay fresh
