Tags

, , ,

I spend most of my money on food. It is just kinda how it goes for me…and I don’t mind since I love it so much and I think it is worth it! Unfortunately though this week I am trying to save up some money by not spending too much on food so I decided on something easy to make and eat for a few nights in a row. I found this http://family.go.com/food/recipe-647493-pasta-and-meatballs-for-kids-t/ and thought it sounded delicious since I used to love spaghetti-os! I don’t want to eat store bought spaghettiO’s though since they are not very nutritionally dense. I made a few adjustments to the recipe and my boyfriend made it for dinner last night…it turned out amazing! It had the great spaghettio taste, but better of course…and it is healthy! After we ate it though I came up with a few ideas of how to add more vegetables to it in the future so I will add those underneath my recipe.

Spaghetti-Ohs?

Servings: 6

Prep/Total Time: 30 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-450; Fat-5g; Cholesterol-150mg; Sodium-705mg; Carbohydrates-63g; Fiber-11g; Protein-48g; Sugar-11g

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds lean ground turkey
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 slices whole-wheat bread
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 4 Tbsp low-fat milk
  • 2 cups whole wheat orzo, uncooked
  • 2 cans (10 3/4 ounces) low-sodium condensed tomato soup
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
(Next time I would omit the condensed tomato soup and buy 2 can of no-sodium tomato paste and blend it together with a mixer with a large tomato, 1/2 green bell pepper and 1/2 onion and 1/2 cup water)
Directions:
  1. Set slices of bread in a medium bowl and pour milk over it to soften. Add ground turkey, egg and spices and combine well
  2. Form meat mixture into small meatballs – about 1/2 teaspoon each. Drop into boiling water and cook for 5 minutes. (They are done when they float to the top). Drain and set aside
  3. Cook pasta according to package directions and drain well. Set aside with meatballs
  4. Combine soup, water and Parmesan and heat through. Add pasta and meatballs and serve
