Tags

, , ,

What does a Lifestyle Coordinator do? At work, home, etc.? Well, today I woke up at 7am, and took my dog (Lola) out, fed her and got ready to go for a run. I decided to try and see if she would make it through 3 miles without stopping (she has gone 7 miles with me before walking and running) so I took her with me on my run. She did it! We did have one incidence though….as we ran around the lake by my apartment we would pass by this guy and his dog running the opposite way. Each time, the guy would stop and grab his dog (although he was already on a leash) as the dog barked and growled at Lola and I. I always made sure to keep my distance. The last time we passed them I had already gotten about 50ft away and I heard growling and the guy yelling. I turned around and saw the dog running towards me. I have been bitten by dogs twice before so I have always had a fear of all dogs. I hate seeing dogs off leash or on and coming up to sniff my dog. It scared me because I never know what they are capable of. But anyways, I saw the dog running towards me and I didn’t know what to do so I stopped running, picked Lola up and prayed he wouldn’t do anything. Unfortunately this dog was mean and he kept jumping like crazy, growling and trying to attack my dog. I held her up high and he bit my arm and kept trying to bite her when the owner finally grabbed him. I was so shaken up that all I could do was ask if he had his shots and then got out of there as fast as I could….Not a great start to my morning but I was still happy my puppy kept up with me for the full 3 miles.

After my run, I came home and cleaned my arm and then did 20 minutes of yoga, showered, and prepared my breakfast and lunch and snacks for work.

What does a Fitness Professional eat on a daily basis? I try and switch it up so I don’t get bored and also so I can get a variety of nutritional benefits from different foods. This week most of the days look like this-Breakfast at 9: Green Smoothie and Eggs w/ Asparagus; Lunch at 12: Vegetarian Chili, Whole Wheat Pita Bread, Snow Peas, Unsweetened Applesauce; Snack at 3: Raw Unsalted Mixed Nuts with Raisins, Orange; Snack at 6: 100 Calorie Popcorn w/ Ranch Seasoning, Pear; Dinner at 8-9; Spaghetti-Ohs w/ Green Beans; Dessert after dinner; Fruit. Last night we did go out for frozen yogurt for dessert though and I got the plain tart non-fat frozen yogurt and topped it with all sorts of fruit and a few cheesecake bites and mochi…yum!

I try and keep my calories between 2000 and 2500, depending on how active I am for that day. I also try and keep my macro-nutrient ratio at 40% carbohydrates, 30% protein, and 30% fat. I am not very strict on that though, I just try and eat a majority of my diet from fruits and vegetables and other natural foods. Of course I still eat things that I crave a few times a week so I don’t go crazy. For example, I got a burger and fries the other night at Riata Bar & Grill…delicious!

Anyways, I work from 12pm to 8pm so after I prepared my food for the day I played with Lola and went to work. At work I teach 3-4 different group exercise classes every week, personal training, fitness consultations, client billing reports, marketing, creating and promoting new programs, etc. This is the last week of a specialty series I created called Boost, it is for people who are completely sedentary (don’t work out at all). It is an introductory class for those who are nervous or unsure about where to start with an exercise program. It has gone very well and many of my clients have now joined the gym and other programs we offer. We are starting Biggest Loser next week so I will have several clients in 3 different sessions a day 4 days out of the week. I am also going to be teaching a Healthy Eating Every Day class in the middle of the week. We also started this past Monday a program called Race Around the World with the employees at one of the business and we got 20% of the population to join in. I decided I wanted to participate also. It is a program that focuses on how many steps a day you take. It is measured by wearing a pedometer all day. It is recommended to get at least 10,000 steps a day…for everyone! How many steps a day do you take? 10,000 steps equals about 5 miles. It isn’t hard if you get up and take walking breaks throughout the day. There has been tons of research done about taking fitness breaks during the day that shows people will perform much better throughout the day on their work if they have some time to breathe and get the blood flowing again…versus sitting in a slumped position all day. Try downloading http://www.workrave.org/ on your computer to get you moving throughout the day! I always use it and it helps me to remember to move around and stretch.

My best friend (Nikki) is coming into town for the weekend so she will be visiting me at work and staying at my apartment until Sunday. When I get out of work tonight I will go to my apartment and my boyfriend offered to make dinner for us 3 so we will enjoy that and then relax.

That is a day in the life of a Lifestyle Coordinator 🙂

Definitely worth saving! 🙂

