Tags

, , ,

This Sunday as I was planning my menu for the week I got excited with my new ideas! For Sunday night I decided to do a nice Salmon dinner to enjoy before my hectic week started. I have made pecan crusted Salmon before and always loved it so I decided to go with that since it had been awhile since the last time I ate it. The Salmon was great and so was the asparagus. It is a delicious meal that looks fancy but doesn’t take a lot of time to make and impress people with ūüėČ The quinoa salad I made was good but it was too flavorful for the meal it was paired with. I wish I just did the plain quinoa and brown rice as the side instead of adding all of the other stuff. if I made that again, I would probably add chopped up apples and chicken and serve it as a meal instead.

Pecan Crusted Salmon

Servings: 2

Prep/Total Time: 20 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-350; Fat-25g; Cholesterol-50mg; Sodium-300mg; Carbohydrates-10g; Fiber-1g; Protein-16g; Sugar-10g

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 Tbsp¬†Dijon mustard
  • 1.5 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp¬†honey
  • 3 Tbsp finely chopped pecans
  • 10 oz fillets salmon

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. In a small bowl, mix together the mustard, oil, and honey. In another bowl, place the pecans
  2. Place Salmon on a lightly greased baking sheet. Brush with mustard-honey mixture. Cover the top of each fillet with pecan mixture
  3. Bake for 10 minutes per inch of thickness, measured at thickest part, or until salmon just flakes when tested with a fork

Quinoa Salad

Servings: 2

Prep/Total Time: 15 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-250; Fat-3g; Cholesterol-0mg; Sodium-300mg; Carbohydrates-60g; Fiber-4g; Protein-5g; Sugar-13g

Ingredients:

  • 1 store bought bag mix of quinoa and brown rice
  • 1/4 of a red bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1/4 of a green bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1/4 red onion, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp lime juice

Directions:

  1. Microwave the quinoa/brown rice mix according to directions on the package
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients and refrigerate until cold

Asparagus

Servings: 2

Prep/Total Time: 5 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-40; Fat-2g; Cholesterol-0mg; Sodium-2mg; Carbohydrates-4g; Fiber-2g; Protein-2g; Sugar-2g

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 of one bunch of fresh asparagus
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp seasoned salt
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven on broil
  2. Snap off the ends of the asparagus and rinse
  3. Place asparagus on lightly greased cookie sheet and top with olive oil, salt and garlic powder
  4. Broil for about 3 minutes (keep checking so it doesn’t burn) depending on your oven
