Tags

, , ,

I love girl scout cookies but they are addicting and unhealthy! I would just buy a box or two if I knew I could control myself  and limit myself to a cookie or two but I know that I can’t so I try and stay away. I have made an exact replica of Samoas before and they were a little better for you since I used real ingredients versus chemicals but they still were high calorie, fat and sugar. On pinterest I found a recipe for cookies that I kind of followed to replicate a healthier oatmeal cookie version of a Samoa. Definitely not the same, but they still tasted good! I am going to alter the recipe that I have used before and will post that eventually. For right now, this will work!

Samoa Oatmeal Cookies

Servings: 15 cookies

Prep/Total Time: 20 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-100; Fat-4g; Cholesterol-0mg; Sodium-54mg; Carbohydrates-15g; Fiber-4g; Protein-2g; Sugar-4g

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup white whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened reduced-fat shredded coconut
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 2 Tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp ground flax meal
  • 2 Tbsp granulated sugar
  • 3 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line one large cookie sheet with parchment paper
  2. In large bowl whisk together the first five dry ingredients until well combined
  3. In separate bowl, whisk together the remaining ingredients, except the chocolate chips, until smooth and creamy
  4. Mix wet into dry ingredients until well combined
  5. Mix together the 1/3 cup shredded coconut and brown sugar
  6. Roll tablespoon sized amount of dough in your hands and dip the top into coconut/brown sugar mixture
  7. Place on cookie sheet and bake for 10 minutes
  8. Let sit on cookie sheet for a few minutes then remove and cool on a wire rack
  9. Melt the semi-sweet chocolate chips and place in zip lock bag, cut the tip and use it as a pastry bag to drizzle chocolate over the top of the cookies and let cool


