Tags

, ,

One of my followers (a lovely lady who works for one of the companies that uses the corporate gym that I work at) always comes in and talks to me about her new dishes also. We could probably talk about food for hours! She came in on Monday and told me about a great tuna salad recipe that she had made and since I had just gotten back from Sugar Land that morning, I hadn’t gone to the grocery store yet, I decided that I would make that for my lunch this week! Unfortunately on Tuesday morning I was in a hurry and forgot my grocery list so I had to improvise. Her recipe didn’t have the jalapeno, bell peppers or avocado, and instead had capers and artichokes. So this is what I ended up with! It has a delicious creamy texture and is great served on the low-sodium Triscuits! I have been pairing this with a can of low-sodium tomato juice and a bunch of grapes for lunch this week.

Veggie Tuna Salad

Servings: 5

Prep/Total Time: 20 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-322; Fat-12g; Cholesterol-20mg; Sodium-406mg; Carbohydrates-42g; Fiber-12g; Protein-15g; Sugar-2g

Ingredients:

  • 5 2oz cans tuna in water
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 large jalapeno, finely chopped
  • 2 avocados, de-pitted
  • 1 bunch green onions, finely sliced
  • 5 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 4 Tbsp lime juice
  • 3 Tbsp black pepper
  • 1 Tbsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 container mini cherub tomatoes
  • 1 box low-sodium Triscuits

Directions:

  1. Mush everything together in a large bowl
  2. Fold in the tomatoes
  3. Separate into 5 containers for the week
  4. Serve with 12 Triscuits

