Tags

, , , ,

What a busy 2 weeks it has been! Since my last post I drove up to Colorado with my friend, hung out for a few days, went snow shoeing (awesome), flew back, worked a flip flop schedule so I got no sleep, celebrated my birthday with a massage, wine and appetizer night with Josh, went to a hockey game with my parents, got a new hybrid bike (to do the Shiner 100 mile ride from Austin to Shiner), worked some more, and found out I get to switch shifts starting in April (5am-1pm, which yes I actually like way better)! On Sunday night when I could finally relax I decided to make a salad for dinner. I got the delicious ingredient idea from an awesome sandwich I had in Colorado. So keep in mind, if you don’t like salad, you can also eat this with the ingredients on a sandwich instead. I really liked the salad so I will probably make it again and eat it for lunch during the week but I will switch up a few things (post to come after I make it next week).

Chicken, Apple and Brie Salad

Servings: 2

Prep/Total Time: 40 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-400; Fat-12g; Cholesterol-88mg; Sodium-323mg; Carbohydrates-42g; Fiber-4g; Protein-34g; Sugar-31g

Ingredients

  • 1 bag mixed greens (about 4 oz)
  • 8 oz chicken breast 
  • 2 oz Brie, chopped up small
  • 1 apple, chopped up
  • 4 Tbsp wonton crisps
  • 8 Tbsp fig jam
  • Water, to thin down the jam
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • cinnamon to taste
Directions
  1. Sprinkle the salt and pepper on the chicken and bake at 375 degrees for about 20-30 minutes, or until no longer pink
  2. Put the apple pieces in a small bowl with a Tbsp of water and cinnamon and cook in the microwave for one minute
  3. Dice the chicken into chunks
  4. Place salad greens on a large plate and top with chicken, brie, apple and wonton crisps
  5. Mix the jam with water until it is at a good salad dressing consistency and put on top of the salad
