Tags

, , , ,

I love celebrating Holidays, no matter how large or small! I especially love St. Patricks day because I am Irish 🙂 I wanted to make a festive meal but also keep it healthy so I settled in on fish and chips. It was amazing! I don’t have Alaskan Cod too often and I always forget how delicious it is when it is cooked well! I am also obsessed with anything dealing with potatoes so the “chips” were my favorite part! I did not drink the beer since I just plain don’t like it but Josh did and I wanted to include it in the picture. I did listen to Irish rock music all day though and then went out and enjoyed a few drinks in the spirit of the holiday 🙂

St. Paddy’s Day Baked Fish and Chips

Servings: 4

Prep/Total Time: 45 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-325; Fat-5g; Cholesterol-43mg; Sodium-331mg; Carbohydrates-45g; Fiber-3g; Protein-24g; Sugar-5g

Ingredients

  • Olive oil cooking spray
  • 1 1/2 pounds russet potatoes, scrubbed and cut into thin rounds
  • 4 tsp olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp Cajun seasoning, divided
  • 2 cups gluten-free brown rice krispie cereal
  • 1/4 cup oat flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 large egg whites, beaten
  • 1 pound Alaskan Cod cut into 4 portions
  • Bag of low fat coleslaw mix

Directions

  1. Position racks in upper and lower third of oven; preheat to 425°F. Coat baking sheets with cooking spray
  2. Thoroughly rinse potatoes with cold water, then pat dry completely with paper towels. Toss the potatoes, oil and 3/4 teaspoon Cajun seasoning in a large bowl. Spread on the baking sheets. Bake on the lower oven rack, turning every 10 minutes, until crispy, 30 minutes. You might have to use a few baking sheets because the potatoes should not be on top of one another
  3. Meanwhile, crush rice krispie cereal in a sealable plastic bag. Transfer to a shallow dish. Place flour, the remaining 3/4 teaspoon Cajun seasoning and salt in another shallow dish and egg whites in a third shallow dish. Dredge fish in the flour mixture, dip it in the egg whites and then coat all sides with the ground cereal. Place on the prepared baking sheet. Coat both sides of the breaded fish with cooking spray.
  4. Bake the fish on the upper oven rack until opaque in the center and the breading is golden brown and crisp, about 20 minutes
  5. Serve with 1/4 cup of coleslaw
