Tags

, , , , ,

When I was sitting at work a few days ago I was trying to decide what I could make to get in the right amount of carbs, protein and fat for a snack/small meal. I wrote this recipe down thinking that I would make it into protein bars but as I was making it I thought it looked like banana ice cream so I decided to go with that instead! I froze the containers that I had put the mix in and then let it thaw the next day for about an hour and it had the texture of ice cream and was high in protein, just like I wanted! It is a refreshing snack after a sweaty workout.

*A few days after I made this I was teaching a core class when all of a sudden something popped into my mind…Elvis Ice Cream. If you didn’t want to add the whey protein, or even if you still did, you could easily mix bananas with peanut butter and honey and freeze! There are so many different, easy ways to make healthy ice cream, stay updated with my blog to see my new post on carrot cake ice cream for Easter 😉

Protein Banana Ice Cream

Servings: 6

Prep/Total Time: 15 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-352; Fat-11g; Cholesterol-30mg; Sodium-109mg; Carbohydrates-44g; Fiber-5g; Protein-28g; Sugar-24g

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whey protein
  • 3 oz almonds, chopped in food processor
  • 6 medium bananas, mashed
  • 6 Tbsp oat flour
  • 3 Tbsp honey
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon

Directions

  1. Blend everything together until it is smooth, use a food processor or electric mixer
  2. Separate into 6 containers and freeze
  3. Let thaw for about an hour before eating with a spoon
