Tags

, , , , , ,

Last Monday (my first day working the early shift at work) I wanted to celebrate the switch. I thought going to the pool and grilling sounded perfect! I saw a recipe from Whole Living that featured a quinoa burger and it looked delicious so I decided to make it, with a few changes here and there. They turned out delicious! It was such a wonderful afternoon, listening to music by the pool with Josh, grilling quinoa burgers (we used lettuce instead of buns), mushrooms, broccoli and mango and drinking a mini bottle of sweet red wine ūüôā
 
Quinoa Veggie Burger

Servings: 4

Prep/Total Time: 45 minutes 

Nutrition Info: Calories-200; Fat-3g; Cholesterol-48mg; Sodium-250mg; Carbohydrates-35g; Fiber-8g; Protein-10g; Sugar-2g

Ingredients
 
  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 4 scallions, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 15 ounces can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 cup oat flour
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • ¬ĺ tsp salt
  • ¬Ĺ tsp pepper
  • *cheese if so desired

Directions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350
  2. Cook quinoa according to the package; set aside
  3. In a food processor, pulse carrot until finely chopped. Add cooked quinoa, scallions, garlic, beans, breadcrumbs, egg, cumin, salt, and pepper; pulse until combined but still slightly chunky.
  4. Form mixture into four patties and place on ungreased baking sheet
  5. Bake for about 8 minutes on each side
  6. I grilled mine after that just because I had prepared them earlier in the day and had to do that to heat them up
 
*I put bacon on Josh’s hahaha
 
