Tags

, , , ,

My new project is to develop different types of granola and protein bars that taste great but are low in sugar and high in healthy ingredients! My first batch of granola was too plain and I didn’t like it a lot, my second batch I was testing turned out pretty good! It is not too sweet and it has the comforting flavor of peanut butter and jelly (except it is actually raisins). I still want to make some changes and try all sorts of new flavors! I want to start my business off of making things like this but I don’t have a name for it yet…

Also, in some of my recipes where I do not add any sugar or honey the grams of sugar might seem a little high. This is natural sugar though, the kind that comes from fruits and it does not act like processed sugar does in your body. Fruit produces a more gradual rise in blood glucose vs refined sugar which produces a rapid, high rise. Fiber, which is also in fruits helps reduce blood glucose levels after eating and makes you feel more satiated after consumption. Fruit also provides many vitamins and minerals to your diet 🙂

PB&R Granola

Servings: 9

Prep/Total Time: 30 minutes 

Nutrition Info: Calories-245; Fat-5g; Cholesterol-0mg; Sodium-17mg; Carbohydrates-48g; Fiber-6g; Protein-5g; Sugar-25g

Ingredients

  • 5 Medjool dates
  • 2 Tbsp PB2
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla
  • 3 cups oats
  • 1 cup raisins (no sugar added)
  • 2 Tbsp oat flour

Directions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 300
  2. Cover the dates with just enough water to cover them and boil until the skin starts to fall off…about 5 minutes
  3. In a food processor blend the dates with the water, PB@, olive oil, cinnamon and vanilla
  4. In a large bowl mix the pureed mixture with the oats, raisins and oat flour until everything is covered
  5. Spread out on a greased baking sheet and cook for about 20 minutes, or until it starts to brown, stirring every 5 minutes
