Tags

, , , , ,

Again, when I was at Sprouts I didn’t know what to make so I literally just chose all sorts of different things, hoping that I could put them together when it came time to make dinner. Josh and I had been at the pool and I wanted to stay in the tropical moment so I used my fresh summer time vegetables and shrimp to make a luau salad. It was very light, yet fulfilling meal.

Luau Salad

Servings: 2

Prep/Total Time: 45 minutes 

Nutrition Info: Calories-470; Fat-16g; Cholesterol-64mg; Sodium-44mg; Carbohydrates-77g; Fiber-15g; Protein-16g; Sugar-36g

Ingredients

  • 12 peeled and deveined shrimp
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 Tbsp lime juice
  • 1 green plantain, peeled and sliced
  • 4 cups romaine lettuce
  • 1 mango, peeled and diced
  • 15 cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1/2 yellow bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 sweet onion, diced
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
Directions
  1. Combine the first 5 ingredients in a bowl and let soak while the grill heats up on medium high heat
  2. Cook the shrimp until the shrimp turns pink
  3. Pre-heat the oven to 350 and place the plantain chips, coated with cooking spray, on a greased cookie sheet and bake for about 30 minutes, or until crispy
  4. Combine the rest of the salsa ingredients in a bowl (except for the lettuce)
  5. Place the lettuce on the plate, top with the salsa, shrimp and plantain chips

