Tags

, ,

I have not updated in a long time and there are quite a few recipe that I have waiting to be uploaded….but don’t worry, they will all be put on here soon enough! I went shopping at Sprouts the other day and I didn’t know what I wanted to make for my dinners for the week. I just randomly grabbed things here and there and I ended up with rainbow trout and an eggplant. I thought about a recipe my friend had told me about for eggplant and I knew that was what I was going to make. I got the recipe off of her website http://foodtwentyfourseven.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2012-04-09T21:28:00-07:00&max-results=7 and started to get to work. They were awesome and I could eat them every day! The inside gets very light and is the perfect complement for the crispy outside! As for the rainbow trout, I just used what I had laying around in my kitchen and threw some ingredients together….it all came together nicely.

Rainbow Trout w/ Eggplant Fries

Rainbow Trout

Servings: 2

Prep/Total Time: 10 minutes 

Nutrition Info: Calories-200; Fat-11g; Cholesterol-50mg; Sodium-45mg; Carbohydrates-8g; Fiber-2g; Protein-19g; Sugar-0g

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb rainbow trout
  • 15 cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp dried ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne

Directions

  1. Saute the garlic in a pan until it gets crispy, add the rest of the ingredients and top with the fish, face down in the pan
  2. Cook until the fish is no longer opaque and it starts to flake (about 4-5 minutes each side)
Eggplant Fries

Servings: 4

Prep/Total Time: 20 minutes 

Nutrition Info: Calories-288; Fat-6g; Cholesterol-95mg; Sodium-385mg; Carbohydrates-51g; Fiber-6g; Protein-11g; Sugar-16g

Ingredients

  • 1 large eggplant, skin peeled, sliced into thin strips
  • 1/4 cup oat flour
  • 1 1/2 cup plain dried bread crumbs
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tbsp honey

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400
  2. Put oat flour in ziploc bag
  3. Whisk two eggs in a medium-large bowl
  4. Add bread crumbs and seasonings to a ziploc bag and shake.
  5. Place a handful of your raw eggplant fries into the bag of flour and shake to coat, then transfer to bowl with the eggs and coat well
  6. Place egg coated eggplant fries into the bread crumb mixture and shake all around to coat the fries
  7. Place your coated eggplant fries onto your greased pan (not overlapping) and cook about 10-12 minutes, or until browned and crispy.
  8. Serve immediately, drizzled with honey
