Tags

, ,

I. Love. Sushi. I especially like to eat a lot of it…which is hard to do because good sushi restaurants are usually pretty expensive per roll. My brother-in-law made sushi one time and I got hooked and bought a sushi kit myself and learned how to properly make the rice…the most important part. After many, many tries I finally came up with the perfect ratio. I am going to give you the sticky rice recipe but the fillings are up to you! In the pictures I have many different fillings-salmon, cream cheese, crab, mango, jalapeno…and probably a few other that I can’t remember. I had been telling my friends from work about how I loved to make sushi so I finally had them over to try it out. This rice recipe fed 5 of us and we were pretty full afterwards so it makes a good amount…it would easily feed 6! I also served the sushi with some edamame and one of my guests brought saki. Unfortunately the sodium content is very high in sushi and the best rice for the job is white…just make sure to drink a lot of water and have more potassium than normal to flush the salt out 🙂

Sticky Rice

Servings: 6

Prep/Total Time: 45 minutes 

Nutrition Info: Calories-350; Fat-2g; Cholesterol-0mg; Sodium-2300mg; Carbohydrates-80g; Fiber-0g; Protein-6g; Sugar-8g

Ingredients

  • 3 cups short-grain rice
  • 4 cups water
  • 1/2 cup rice vinegar
  • 4 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 Tbsp salt

*Don’t forget the seaweed (nori) for the rolls, and fillings!

Directions

  1. Rinse rice until water runs clear
  2. Fill large pot with rice and water
  3. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat
  4. Reduce to medium heat after one minute
  5. Reduce to low heat when boiling stops
  6. When all liquid is absorbed, turn heat on high for 10 seconds and then turn the heat off
  7. Leave rice covered in the pot for 15 minutes
  8. Mix together the rice vinegar, salt and sugar and combine with the rice
  9. Use a hair-dryer on cool or a fan to cool down the rice while mixing until it becomes sticky and cool

*Using a sushi kit, wrap the bamboo roller in saran wrap and lay flat on the counter. Place the nori on top of the saran wrap and place a small amount of the rice on top of the nori and spread out using wet fingertips. Near the end of the sheet, leaving 1/2 an inch, place your filling. Roll the seaweed and fillings up and slice with a sharp knife.

