Tags

, , , , , ,

As I have been training for my 100 mile bike ride this Saturday (Austin to Shiner) I realized a lot of cyclists use their long rides as an excuse to eat a lot of junk…chips, cookies, candy, drinks with tons of sugar or fake sugar, etc. I ride to be healthy and stay in shape, not to ride and then ruin it with food that is not good for me! I decided to make my own food to bring with me on my ride that would fuel me properly (the right amount of calories, fat, carbs, protein, and electrolytes). I had been bringing Larabars with me but they are so expensive so I decided to make my own. I love lemon and feel like it is a light, refreshing taste to have during my ride so I made lemon balls to bring with me. The cashews provide the protein to keep me satisfied, the dates bring the carbs, potassium, calcium, magnesium and phosphorus and the added salt of course is the sodium. Perfect! Easy to bring along in little baggies, tastes delicious and is actually natural and healthy fuel!

Lemon “Larabar” Balls

Servings: 10

Prep/Total Time: 15 minutes 

Nutrition Info: Calories-200; Fat-11g; Cholesterol-0mg; Sodium-29mg; Carbohydrates-23g; Fiber-2g; Protein-5g; Sugar-15g

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Medjool dates
  • 2 cups raw cashews
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp salt
Directions
  1. Blend the cashews, salt, lemon juice and vanilla extract until it reaches a semi-fine texture
  2. Add in the dates and blend until it starts to form a ball
  3. Use your hands if necessary to blend the ingredients together until it is uniform throughout
  4. Roll into balls and store in the fridge


