Tags

, , , ,

My manager’s birthday is tomorrow and I wanted to bring her something since she brought lunch in for me for my birthday 2 months ago. She likes to eat healthy and she loves peanut butter. Since she is coming in early tomorrow I decided to make muffins. I have been reading about coconut sugar and have been dying to try it out and I really liked it. I mean…it is still sugar but it is supposed to have a lower glycemic index than refined sugar; it looks and tastes like brown sugar though. I was very pleased with these muffins and I would definitely make them again for breakfast!

Peanut Butter Banana Streusel Muffin

Servings: 12

Prep/Total Time: 45 minutes 

Nutrition Info: Calories-134; Fat-4g; Cholesterol-16mg; Sodium-70mg; Carbohydrates-22g; Fiber-2g; Protein-2g; Sugar-12g

Ingredients

Muffins:

  • 1  cup oat flour
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil spread
  • 3 tbsp PB2, made into peanut butter with water
  • 1/4 cup packed raw coconut sugar
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup ripe mashed bananas
Streusel Topping:
  • 1/4 cup oat flour
  • 1/4 cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup raw coconut sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp PB2
  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil spread
  • 1/4 cup carob chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375.  Line muffin tin with paper liners; set aside
  2. In a small bowl, combine 1/4 cup oat flour, 1/4 cup raw coconut sugar and cinnamon.  Using a fork, mix in peanut butter and butter until crumbly.  Stir in carob chips and set aside as the streusel topping
  3. In a large bowl, combine the butter and peanut butter and beat with an electric mixer until creamy, about 30 seconds.  Add the flour, coconut sugar, almond milk, egg, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Beat on low speed just until combined, scraping down the sides of the bowl.  Stir in banana and carob chips
  4. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling two-thirds full.  Generously sprinkle streusel topping over filled muffin cups.  Bake for 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Allow muffins to cool on wire rack for 5 to 10 minutes; serve warm

I wrapped some of the muffins in saran wrapped and popped them into the freezer. When I am ready to eat them I will sit them out and let them thaw and then heat up in the toaster oven for a few minutes

