Tags

, , , ,

Last weekend my Fiance and I celebrated our engagement by hosting a fiesta engagement party with our friends. I love making Mexican food and I knew I was going to be gone all day this Cinco de Mayo because of my 100 mile bike ride so I needed an excuse to make my Mexican recipes! We wanted to keep it simple so we wouldn’t spend all day cooking, yet still delicious of course! We just bought the pre-made chicken and fajita meat and Josh added some spices to it and grilled that as the main entree. I made some stuffed jalapenos but I wasn’t a huge fan so I will not be posting that recipe. I was dying to make my favorite green salsa and a strawberry margarita cake and they turned out to be a hit! When I was growing up  my family, friends and I would always go to Ninfas, a Mexican restaurant. I used to be a very picky eater and all I would get at a Mexican restaurant was cheese enchiladas. I have definitely expanded my palate above and beyond what it used to be. The other thing I was obsessed with at Ninfas was their green sauce. It was to die for! Unfortunately Ninfas closed down many years ago but I still crave the green sauce. I searched the web and I finally found a copy cat recipe for it on http://homesicktexan.blogspot.com/2007/01/salsa-salvation-ninfas-green-sauce.html! I changed it a bit to make it healthier and I would eat it every day as a soup if I could! The bad part (yet the best part) is that it calls for green tomatoes…which are hard to find and are pretty costly. I found mine at Whole Foods and it cost about $20 (I doubled the recipe though). I do believe it is worth it though!

Ninfa’s Green Sauce

Servings: 10, 1/2 cup servings

Prep/Total Time: 25 minutes 

Nutrition Info: Calories-85; Fat-5g; Cholesterol-0mg; Sodium-247mg; Carbohydrates-10g; Fiber-4g; Protein-5g; Sugar-4g

Ingredients

  • 3 medium-sized green tomatoes, coarsely chopped
  • 4 tomatillos, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, stemmed and coarsely chopped
  • 3 small garlic cloves, chopped
  • 3 medium-sized ripe avocados, peeled, pitted and sliced
  • 4 sprigs cilantro
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups non-fat plain Greek yogurt

Directions

  1. Combine chopped tomatoes, tomatillos, jalapenos and garlic in a saucepan
  2. Bring to a boil (tomatoes provide the liquid), reduce heat and simmer 10 to 15 minutes
  3. Remove from heat and let cool slightly
  4. Place tomato mixture with the avocados, cilantro and salt in food processor or blender and blend until smooth
  5. Pour into a bowl and stir in the yogurt
  6. Makes 5 cups
