Tags

, ,

I really wanted to make oatmeal cookies today but I figured it was probably a bad idea because I would want to eat all of them! So I made my oatmeal cookie idea into granola…and ate a majority of that instead! Oops! This granola has a light buttery taste with a slight note of apple and cinnamon…perfect for breakfast or a snack! I have been using coconut spread lately for my cooking. I bought it at Sprouts, it is in a butter container with the same texture and taste as butter but it is made with coconut oil, olive oil and canola oil. I also have been using Raw Coconut Crystals and the two ingredients combined are perfect for baking. If you can’t find the ingredients at your store, just replace with brown sugar and butter. This granola has significantly less sugar than the store bought kind and a majority of it is actually just the natural sugar from the apples. It also is high in fiber to help keep you full!

Apple Cinnamon Granola

Servings: 6 (2/3 cup each)

Prep/Total Time: 30 minutes 

Nutrition Info: Calories-183; Fat-7g; Cholesterol-0mg; Sodium-78mg; Carbohydrates-28g; Fiber-7g; Protein-4g; Sugar-7g

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Quaker Old-Fashioned Oats
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 Tbsp coconut spread
  • 2 Tbsp Raw Coconut Crystals
  • 1 cup unsweetened dried apples, chopped
  • 1 egg white

Directions

  1. Mix the dry ingredients together in a medium bowl
  2. Mix the wet ingredients together in a medium bowl
  3. Mix the two bowls together using a big spoon
  4. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes, break up the clumps, cover with tinfoil and bake at 300 for 10 more minutes
  5. Let cool and store in an airtight container
