Tags

, , , , ,

Tomorrow is bike to work day so I decided it would be fun if we provided breakfast for those who rode this week for our bike week! We are bringing in breakfast tacos, bananas, granola bars and water. I wanted to bring something homemade so I started looking around for ideas. I found this website http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/healthy-first-birthday-cake-recipes.html and decided to adapt a recipe for  a banana-blueberry cake that I saw. They are delicious and you wouldn’t even be able to tell that they are sugar free! Since they are basically fat-free they have a different texture than normal muffins. Make sure to spray or grease your cupcake liners or add a bit of oil to the batter so the cupcakes don’t stick to the wrappers. I think next time I would do 1/8 cup of Sunsweet replacement and add in 1 or 2 Tbsp of canola oil. I also wanted to add an icing to them and I used the one provided on the website but made more of it and OH. MY. GOSH. I am obsessed. I usually don’t like cupcakes or cakes because their icings are normally SOOO sweet. This one is perfect! No sugar added, low-fat and delicious! I already have a lot of ideas brewing for it! If I added less apple juice concentrate it would have been thicker which is great for frosting cupcakes and cakes. I can also add peanut butter, chocolate, lemon etc. for different flavors! Very excited! Let me know how it turns out with the different flavors you try out!

Blueberry-Banana Muffins

Servings: 24

Prep/Total Time: 45 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-80; Fat-.5g; Cholesterol-8mg; Sodium-38mg; Carbohydrates-17g; Fiber-2g; Protein-3g; Sugar-6g

Ingredients

  • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 2 1/4 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • Pinch salt
  • 6 medium ripe bananas, peeled and mashed
  • 1/4 cup Sunsweet Lighter Bake Butter and Oil Replacement
  • 1/2 cup fresh blueberries
  • 1 egg, beaten well
  • 3 egg whites, beaten well
  • 3/4 cup frozen unsweetened apple juice concentrate, thawed

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F
  2. Using a hand mixer or blending stick blend the bananas, lighter bake, blueberries, eggs and apple juice concentrate until thoroughly mixed together
  3. Add all the rest of the ingredients and blend until thoroughly combined
  4. Pour the batter into greased/oil sprayed cupcake liners, 3/4 full
  5. Cook for 25-30 minutes
  6. Let cool and top with icing

Sugar-Free Cream Cheese Icing

Servings: 24

Prep/Total Time: 45 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-28; Fat-2g; Cholesterol-7mg; Sodium-40mg; Carbohydrates-1g; Fiber-0g; Protein-1g; Sugar-.5g

Ingredients

  • 8 oz package low-fat cream cheese, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup frozen unsweetened apple juice concentrate (thawed)
Directions
  1. Using a hand mixer or blending stick blend together all ingredients until thoroughly combined
  2. Place in fridge to firm up a bit
