Tags

, , , ,

 I have been hearing a lot about how healthy lentils are and I decided I needed to try them out! I wanted to make something easy with them and add vegetables so I decided on soup. I love the taste of this soup, it even has a little sweetness from the tomatoes and onion!

Lentil Soup

Servings: 6

Prep/Total Time: 30 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-105; Fat-2g; Cholesterol-0mg; Sodium-328mg; Carbohydrates-14g; Fiber-5g; Protein-5g; Sugar-8g

Ingredients

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup lentils, cooked
  • 2 cups no sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 (19 oz) can Italian-style stewed tomatoes, undrained and chopped
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
Directions
  1. Saute onion and garlic in olive oil until softened.
  2. Stir in remaining ingredients and bring to a boil.
  3. Cover and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

