I was given an ice cream maker from a friend for 2 weeks with the task of coming up with a vegan ice cream recipe that has the creaminess and taste of regular ice cream. I normally am not a big ice cream eater but this ice cream is so smooth and creamy that I can’t resist it! I made regular vanilla and served it with baked cinnamon-sugar plantains and everybody loved it! Another day I made this recipe and added 3/4 tsp cinnamon and substituted the sugar with coconut palm sugar and it tasted like cinnamon toast crunch ice cream! I am definitely going to keep experimenting with new flavors…except this is not my ice cream maker! I suppose I will just have to buy one!

Vegan Vanilla Ice Cream

Servings: 10 

Prep/Total Time: 5 min

Nutrition Info: Calories-150; Fat-5g; Cholesterol-0mg; Sodium-47mg; Carbohydrates-22g; Fiber-1g; Protein-1g; Sugar-16g

Ingredients

  • 2 cups coconut (or soy) creamer, plain
  • 2 cans coconut milk, placed in the freezer over night, (scoop out the firm harder cream at the top and leave the liquid at the bottom)
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 2 Tbsp arrowroot or cornstarch
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Mix ¼ cup of liquid coconut milk with the 2 tablespoons of arrowroot and set aside
  2. Mix the creamer, firm coconut milk and sugar together in a saucepan. When the mixture has just started to boil, take off the heat and stir in the arrowroot or cornstarch slurry. This should immediately cause the liquid to thicken
  3. Stir in vanilla extract
  4. Set the ice cream mixture aside to cool
  5. Freeze according to your ice cream maker’s instructions (I did it for 30 minutes)
  6. Freeze for 30min to 1hr for best results before eating
  7. If freezing overnight, let ice cream thaw out at room temperature before eating
