Tags

, , , ,

I am currently teaching a Healthy Eating Every Day class and always tell my class about how much I love cooking and if they have a recipe they would like to see made healthy, to let me know. A few days ago I had someone ask me if I could make a healthier version of the Starbucks Blueberry Scone. I went to the store pretty soon after and came up with these! I looked at the recipe for the regular scones and worked off of that. I brought them in to class today and everybody loved them! I cut the calories in half and took out almost 2/3 of the fat! I also cut the 8 pieces in half for the class so they were only 115 calories, another way to cut calories…just eating less! These can be frozen and are best reheated in the toaster oven. Oh…and they are also vegan!

Starbucks Blueberry Scones-Healthified

Servings: 8

Prep/Total Time: 60 min

Nutrition Info: Calories-230; Fat-8g; Cholesterol-0mg; Sodium-284mg; Carbohydrates-32g; Fiber-6g; Protein-4g; Sugar-12g

vs. Starbucks Regular Blueberry Scones

Nutrition Info: Calories-460; Fat-22g; Cholesterol-75mg; Sodium-420mg; Carbohydrates-61g; Fiber-2g; Protein-7g; Sugar-17g

Ingredients

  • 2 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 5 Tbsp raw sugar (2 Tbsp are used for topping)
  • 5 Tbsp coconut butter spread
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut almond milk
  • 1 6oz container Greek coconut yogurt-plain
  • 2 6oz containers raw blueberries
  • 1 zest of lemon

Directions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350
  2. Mix together the first 5 dry ingredients in a medium bowl (just use 3 Tbsp raw sugar)
  3. Mix together the next 3 wet ingredients in a large bowl
  4. Combine the dry mix into the wet and then slowly add in the blueberries and lemon zest
  5. Grease a baking sheet and put the mix into a flat circular shape on the sheet and sprinkle with the 2 Tbsp of raw sugar
  6. Bake for about 40 minutes, then cut into 8ths and bake again for another 5-10 minutes

 

