Tags

, , , ,

I love Fall for 2 reasons….the cooler weather and because I can now put my pumpkin obsession to work. Anything pumpkin makes me happy. So, I know this post is a bit late, but on the first day of Fall I made vegan pumpkin pancakes and then went to It’s a Grind Coffee House and got a Pumpkin Caramel Pecan blended coffee drink and OMG it was like drinking a pie..it was pure bliss. BUT back to my pancakes, what a great start to fall and to my morning! They were easy to make and tasted great but they didn’t come out as fluffy as I would have liked. I adapted them from this website http://healthymammas.com/2011/10/21/vegan-pumpkin-pancakes-my-oil-free-challenge/. I don’t know if I was just too impatient or if I need to switch something up so I will try to cook them longer next time and make a few changes. But in the mean time, these still came out delicious…and they are vegan!

Be prepared for a bunch of pumpkin recipes in the next several months!

Vegan Pumpkin Pancakes

Servings: 2

Prep/Total Time: 20 min

Nutrition Info: Calories-347; Fat-4g; Cholesterol-0mg; Sodium-548mg;Carbohydrates-63g; Fiber-10g; Protein-10g; Sugar-19g

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp ground flax
  • 1 cup white whole-wheat pastry flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/3 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 Tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water

Directions

  1. Combine all dry ingredients and mix well, set aside
  2. Combine all wet ingredients and whisk well to combine
  3. Add wet mixture to dry mixture and mix just until incorporated
  4. Allow your batter to sit while you preheat your griddle to medium-high
  5. Drop by ladle full (or 1/3 cup measuring cup full) onto greased grill
  6. Cook until bubbles form throughout the middle of the pancake and the edges look dry
  7. Flip and cook a few more minutes on the other side
  8. These take a little longer to cook because of the pumpkin…just make sure that the edges look dry and there are lots of bubbles in the middle of each pancake before you flip them
  9. **I use a non-stick griddle, but if yours is not non-stick, lightly spray the surface with a small amount of cooking spray.
  10. ***I topped my pancakes with 1 Tbsp of maple syrup and 1 Tbsp vegan butter

