Tags

,

This past weekend I was missing Texas and wanted to cook a southern meal so I knew I needed to start with some BBQ sauce! I could eat this BBQ sauce with a spoon! My dad introduced me to this recipe and since then I changed out some of the ingredients to make it more healthy and natural. It is very sweet and slightly spicy, just how I like it! I recently used this recipe for my pulled pork sandwiches (I will post that recipe soon).

Honey BBQ SauceBBQ Sauce

Servings: 1/4 cup (Makes 6 cups total)

Prep/Total Time: 45 min

Nutrition Info: Calories-84; Fat-1g; Cholesterol-0mg; Sodium-145mg; Carbohydrates-22g; Fiber-2g; Protein-1g; Sugar-14g

Ingredients

  • 12 oz tomato paste-no salt added
  • 2 cups tomato sauce-no sodium added
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 cup honey
  • 4 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 4 tsp hickory-flavored liquid smoke
  • 2 Tbsp coconut spread (butter)
  • 3/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp celery seed
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 Tbsp ground mustard
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp coarsely ground black pepper

Directions

  1. In a large saucepan over medium heat, mix all ingredients together
  2. Reduce heat to low, and simmer for up to 20 minutes. For thicker sauce, simmer longer, and for thinner, less time is needed. Sauce can also be thinned using a bit of water if necessary

