Tags

,

As I said in my last post, I really wanted a good southern meal and decided on Pulled Pork Sandwiches….but I wanted to make everything from scratch! I started with the Honey BBQ Sauce and made buns the day before using this recipe http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/whole-wheat-hamburger-buns. Unfortunately the buns rose a lot before they cooked and then seemed to deflate as they were baking. They still had a good taste but they were very flat! The recipe is for the actual pulled pork…I put it in the buns, added a vinegar based coleslaw on top http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2011/07/27/oil-and-vinegar-coleslaw-recipe/  (we added carrots and no sugar to this recipe) and topped it off with slices of pepperoncini peppers. I served this with green beans almondine http://www.food.com/recipe/green-beans-almondine-14804. For dessert we had a non-dairy, no-sugar banana cream pie, I will post the picture but I honestly forgot how I made it but it was delicious! I also do not know the calorie content in the sandwiches because I made A LOT of pulled pork. I think we ended up making 10 sandwiches with it, 3 days worth of pulled pork enchiladas and a pulled pork pizza. Enjoy the recipe! These were amazing! They were just what I was looking for and were surprisingly easy to make!

Pulled Pork SandwichesPulled Pork Sandwiches

Serves: A lot…Probably close to 18 sandwiches

Ingredients

  • 6 lb pork shoulder
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3 1/2 cup Honey BBQ Sauce
  • 1 large sweet onion, diced

Directions

  1. Place the pork shoulder in the crockpot, pour in 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup Honey BBQ Sauce, turn on low and cook for 10-12 hours 
  2. After the 12 hours are up use a fork to shred the pork, toss in the onion and the rest of the 3 cups of Honey BBQ Sauce, cook on low for 2 hours and serve on buns with coleslaw and pepperoncini peppers

Vinegar and Oil Coleslaw

Vinegar and Oil ColeslawGreen Beans Almondine

Green Beans AlmondineBanana Cream Pie

Banana Non-Dairy Cream Pie

