Tags

, , ,

My Mother-In-Law really likes caramels so I decided to make some for her for Easter this year! I tried out a few recipes before I finally got it right but I wanted to make them without added sugar and use honey instead. I finally got it right! They melt in your mouth and the salt is a perfect added touch. If you want to use this recipe as a caramel sauce then just replace the heavy whipping cream with light cream. I apologize for the picture but I had kind of forgotten to take one until they were almost gone! I also put these in a container that was a little too big so they weren’t very thick. I would put them in a small pyrex container next time I think! I found this recipe on http://www.naturalsweetrecipes.com/honey-caramels/.

Salted Honey Caramels

Salted Honey Caramels

Servings: 1 caramel (makes about 20)

Prep/Total Time:30 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-93; Fat-5g; Cholesterol-15mg; Sodium-12mg; Carbohydrates-14g; Fiber-0g; Protein-0g; Sugar-14g

Ingredients

  • 1 cup honey
  • 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • Pinch of sea salt

Directions

  1. Combine honey and cream in a sauce pan and bring to a boil. Stir occasionally while it cooks. Continue cooking until the mixture reaches 235 degrees on a candy thermometer 
  2. Remove pan from the heat and immediately stir in vanilla and butter. Stir until butter is completely melted and combined
  3. Pour into a generously buttered 8 by 8 dish or smaller if you want thick large caramels. Top with a pinch of sea salt
  4. Place in the freezer to harden for 30 minutes. Cut into squares or scoop out with a spoon and enjoy!
  5. Keep left overs in the fridge or freezer
