Tags

, , , , ,

I have been eating a lot of grain and vegetable based salads lately since I am trying to avoid eating meat/dairy/processed foods (most of the time). If you are vegan you can just omit the cheese here. This is one I have really been enjoying lately, especially since I miss Mexican food up here in Maryland! I made this for my co-workers for lunch during our meeting and everyone seemed to really enjoy it. I also like to add guacamole and jalapenos to this to spice it up…Yum!!! It is easy to make ahead of time for my lunches for the week.

Mexican Couscous Salad

Mexican Couscous Salad

Servings: 5

Prep/Total Time: 20 minutes

Nutrition Info: Calories-430; Fat-6g; Cholesterol-18mg; Sodium-620mg; Carbohydrates-68g; Fiber-17g; Protein-24g; Sugar-6g

Ingredients

  • 1 cup uncooked whole wheat couscous
  • 1 ¼ cup low- sodium vegetable broth
  • 8 green onions, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • ¼ cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 cup frozen corn kernels, thawed
  • 2 (15 oz) cans black beans, drained
  • 1 bottle low-sodium salsa
  • 6 oz reduced-fat cheddar

Directions

  1. Bring broth to a boil in a 2-quart sauce pan and stir in the couscous
  2. Cover and simmer for 2 minutes
  3. Take off the stove and keep covered for 5 minutes, then fluff with a fork
  4. Add the vegetables and beans to the couscous
  5. Toss with salsa and top with cheese
